To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

06/24/2011 4:33 PM ET
Team rosters for the fourth annual Double Duty Classic announced
Rosters Highlighted by Young Athletes from Chicago and Across the Country
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page

CHICAGO - Rosters for the fourth annual Double Duty Classic, presented by McDonald's, have been announced. Named in honor of Ted "Double Duty" Radcliffe, the event commemorates the 78th anniversary of the first East-West All-Star Game by celebrating the history of Negro League baseball in Chicago and promoting the next generation of inner-city baseball players. An invitation-only forum will precede the game and feature a roster of speakers and prominent members of the baseball community.

The game will be played at U.S. Cellular Field on Wednesday, June 29 at 1:05 p.m. featuring the top high school players from across the country (California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas and Washington D.C.). The White Sox Amateur City Elite (ACE) high school travel team will represent the city of Chicago in the All-Star showcase. Players will wear throwback uniforms honoring the Negro Leagues' East-West All-Star teams. Each team will carry a roster of players from both the ACE team and players from across the country. The game is free and open to the public.

Since the Double Duty Classic's inception in 2008, 10 participants have been drafted by Major League clubs. Alex Santana (Los Angeles Dodgers), Lance Jefferies (St. Louis Cardinals), Nick Burdi (Minnesota Twins) and Dontrell Rush (Chicago White Sox) were all selected in this year's MLB draft. Darrell Miller, Jr., who also played in last year's Classic on the West squad, is the son of former MLB player Darrell Miller. Blake Hickman and Devin Pickett, both on the East squad, have committed to the University of Iowa on athletic scholarships.

Below are the final rosters for the game:

Tyler Johnson, Harlan (Chicago)
Jabari Brown, De La Salle (Chicago)
Marshawn Taylor, Simeon (Chicago)
Shane Brown, Simeon (Chicago)
Brandon Fowler, Rich Central (Olympia Fields, Ill.)
Dontrell Rush, Harlan (Chicago)
Jerry Houston, Mt. Carmel (Chicago)
Corey Ray, Simeon (Chicago)
Darvon Slyvain, Harlan (Chicago)
Devin Pickett, Marion Catholic (Chicago Heights, Ill.)
Dejohn Suber, Morgan Park (Chicago)
Jordan Smith, Rich Central (Olympia Fields, Ill.)
Ryan Perez, Westminister (Elgin, Ill.)
Brett Lilek, Marion Catholic (Chicago HeightsIll.)
Joshua Galvan, Walther Lutheran (Melrose Park, Ill.)
Blake Hickman, Simeon (Chicago)
Chris Stevens, Walther Lutheran (Melrose Park, Ill.)
Henry Gigeous, Jacobs (Algonquin, Ill.)
Marcellus Sneed, Morgan Park (Chicago)
Eddie De La Riva, St. Rita (Chicago)
Shaquille Cockrell, Walther Lutheran (Melrose Park, Ill.)

Ronelle Coleman, De La Salle (Chicago)
Errol Robinson, (Washington, D.C.)
Miguel Hermosillo, Ottawa Township (Ottawa, Ill.)
Robert Fletcher, Simeon (Chicago)
Chris Bland, Harlan (Chicago)
Darius Day, Simeon (Chicago)
Sanford Hunt, Kenwood (Chicago)
Toni Jones (Tampa, Fla.)
Jabari Roberts, Harlan (Chicago)
Jalen Purchase, Rich Central (Olympia Fields, Ill.)
Troy Lewis (Geismar, Louis.)
Victor Cole, (Memphis, Tenn.)
Solomon Prince (Tulsa Okla.)
Chuckie Robinson, Danville (Danville, Ill.)
Darrell Miller, (Anaheim, Calif.)
Kevin Ross, Niles West (Skokie, Ill.)
Kevin Phillips (University City, Mo.)
Clinton Hollon (Versailles, Ken.)
Courtney Hawkins, (Corpus Christi, Texas)
Rock Rucker (Stone Mountain, Ga.)

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pagee-mail this page