© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

6/30/2014 7:29 P.M. ET

Abreu, Alexei seek final push for All-Star Game

Voting ends Thursday as White Sox first baseman, shortstop vie for starting nods

CHICAGO -- Jose Abreu's first half of his rookie season has been worthy of American League Most Valuable Player consideration, let alone his inaugural All-Star experience.

But Abreu still needs help to be voted in, and time is running out to lend support. Abreu's second-place deficit behind Miguel Cabrera at first base dipped deeper, with Cabrera checking in at 3,323,380 votes and Abreu trailing with 1,801,592 per the release of AL results Monday. Alexei Ramirez remains a strong second at shortstop behind Derek Jeter, with Jeter holding 2,924,686 and Ramirez having 2,325,527.

Abreu entered Monday's action with 25 homers, tied with Edwin Encarnacion and Nelson Cruz for the Major League lead. His 64 RBIs had him tied for third in the AL, while his .625 slugging percentage sits atop the AL. Abreu also ranked third in the AL with 43 extra-base hits.

Ramirez has dipped a bit during June but still entered Monday tied with the Indians' Asdrubal Cabrera for the most homers among AL shortstops at eight. Ramirez's 39 RBIs sat second behind Erick Aybar's 41, while Ramirez led the position in OPS (.756) and average (.298), while ranking second in slugging (.426).

Fans can cast their votes for starters at MLB.com and all 30 club sites -- online or on a mobile device -- using the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com Ballot Sponsored by Experian until Thursday at 10:59 p.m. CT. The 2014 All-Star Game will be played at Target Field on Tuesday, July 15.

Fans may submit up to 25 online ballots, but they can also earn a one-time bonus of 10 additional online ballots. To access these additional online ballots, you must be logged into your MLB.com account when you submit any online ballot. If you do not have an MLB.com account, register on the site in accordance with the enrollment instructions for a free MLB.com account.

Fans this year once again can participate in the Home Run Derby Fan Poll. Fans will have the opportunity to select three players in each league who they would most like to see participate in the Gillette Home Run Derby. The 2014 Home Run Derby will be broadcast live on ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN Deportes and ESPN Radio in the United States beginning at 7 p.m. CT on Monday, July 14.

The 2014 American League and National League All-Star teams will be unveiled on the Taco Bell All-Star Selection Show on Sunday beginning at 6 p.m. CT on ESPN, with further details to follow on MLB.com. Immediately following the announcement of the AL and NL All-Star rosters, fans can begin voting to select the final player for each league's 34-man roster via the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com Final Vote Sponsored by Experian. Fans will cast their votes from a list of five players from each league over the balloting period.

And the voting doesn't end there. The final phase of All-Star Game voting will again have fans participating in the voting for the Ted Williams All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet. During the Midsummer Classic, fans will vote exclusively online at MLB.com via the 2014 All-Star Game MLB.com MVP Vote Sponsored by Pepsi, and their voice will represent 20 percent of the overall vote that determines the recipient of the Arch Ward Trophy.

MLB.com will provide extensive online coverage of the All-Star Week festivities.

The 85th All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX, in Canada by Rogers Sportsnet and RDS, and worldwide by partners in more than 200 countries via MLB International's independent feed. ESPN Radio and ESPN Radio Deportes will provide national radio coverage of the All-Star Game. MLB Network and SiriusXM will also provide comprehensive All-Star Week coverage. For more information, please visit allstargame.com.

Scott Merkin is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Merk's Works, and follow him on Twitter @scottmerkin. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.